England has named four uncapped players in their ODI squad to face South Africa, preferring Jose Butler, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer for the T20 series. Moeen Ali and Jason Roy both returned to the white ball format after being rested for the New Zealand tour, but there was no place in the T20I squad for Joe Root.

Pat Brown, Saqib Mahmood, Tom Banton, and Matt Parkinson have been selected for the first time in 50-over cricket – though only Brown and Parkinson have retained their T20I spots. Sam Billings, James Vince, and Lewis Gregory were also eliminated from the group that defeated New Zealand 3–2 last month.

England will have their first participation in the format since lifting the World Cup in July, a three-match ODI series starting on 4 February in Cape Town. Eoin Morgan remains on as captain, with David Malan winning a recall following his brilliant T20I form as well as Chris Jordan and Sam Curren, who won the last ODI cap in 2016 and 2018 respectively.

The squad consists of eight members of the World Cup-winning group. Mark Wood has also been rested, along with Butler, Stokes, and Archer; Liam Dawson was once again defeated by Joe Denly as spinner all-rounder, And England has moved from Vince and Liam Plunkett.

Buttler, Stokes and Archer back in the South Africa T20Is Team

Four different newcomers were included in New Zealand, varying the degree of success. In List A cricket, Banton hit two centuries as Somerset won the 2019 Royal London Cup; Mahmood of Lancashire was the leading wicket-taker of the competition with 28 at 18.50.
England will also play three T20Is in South Africa and prioritize the shortest format ahead of next year’s T20 World Cup. Root’s absence suggests that his chances of participation are waning, with England being good for top-order batting options.

England national selector Ed Smith said, “Both these squads were selected to track the T20 World Cup in Australia in the year 2020.” “In the T20s, several other players returned to the team for a successful 3–2 win in New Zealand: Jose Butler, Joffra Archer, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali and Jason Roy. “We want to expand the pool of players who can perform successfully for England, while also helping the team reach the climax for the major tournament.”

England ODI team: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Johnny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Dawid Malan, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curren, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mehmood, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Chris Woakes

England T20I Team: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Matt Parkinson, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Pat Brown, Tom Curren, Joe Denley, Jason Roy, Mark Wood, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes,

Shashank Jain, founder of good-name, a young and energetic entrepreneur has always been fond of technology. His liking for technology made him go for engineering in computers. During his studies, he learned & worked on different computer languages & OS including HBCD, Linux, etc. He also has a keen interest in ethical hacking.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

NBA news: In latest training session Kevin durant looks healthy

Kevin Durant is easily one of the best basketball players in the world and, when he is healthy, some argue that he is actually...

MLB rumors: Alex wants to win the trust of Baseball fans

Alex Bregman said We know that won't be easy but we feel the responsibility to do that. Astros star infielder Alex Bregman hopes the signal...

Basketball: River Bluff girls winless a year ago, now they make history with first postseason victory

Shortly after winning the 61-59 Class 5A First Round playoff with Stall on Tuesday, the River Bluff Women's Basketball team posed for a photo...

American football: What would a perfect offseason look like for the Buffalo bills?

Since Sean McDermott became head coach, buffalo bills have undergone cultural changes and their motto has been "trusting the process." Fans have seen positive results...

MLB news: Alex Bregman focused on mobility in offseason

Bregman has his best chance of getting a place in the Major League roster this spring with previous second base occupants elsewhere, reports Martin...